A message is always sent to a specified group of recipients. As the creator of
a message, you will automatically be added to the recipients group. In the
overview you will therefore see all of the messages where you belong to the
recipient group. Click on
Messages at the top left to refresh the messages
list in the middle column.
By clicking on the
Information, you can display additional information
about the message. By clicking on the number of recipients, an additional area
will be opened which displays the profile pictures of the recipients. Click on
a profile picture to open the
personal page of the
recipient. You can use the search field to search for a specific recipient.
Additionally, you can see the message's total number of messages, and when and
by whom the message was last changed. By clicking on the author link, you will
switch to the personal page
of the author.
You can see three different symbols at the top right:
Your are the creator
You are a recipient
A symbol is grayed out if you do not meet its requirements. The meaning of each
symbol is shown in a tooltip when you move the mouse over them.
2. Create a message
To write a new message, click on the New message
button at the top left of the display area. Alternatively, if you are on the
personal page of a
colleague, you can select
Write a new message from there, to create a new
In both cases, a tooltip containing the master data of the message will be opened.
Enter a subject and the text of the message, and select the recipient(s).
If you have created the message from the
personal page of a
user, then this user will be pre-selected as a recipient. You can, however,
change the recipient group as required, just as you can in general with a
new message. If you select a group as a recipient, the individual members of
the group will be added to the recipient group when
Send message is clicked on, rather than posting the message in the
group. This procedure also applies to distribution lists, organizational
units and roles. The recipients will be informed when you click on
3. Receive a message
navigation bar will inform you about new messages. As long as you have
not blocked the sender of the message, you will also see the new message on
your News page.
4. View a message
Click on the profile picture or the heading to open the message.
In the middle column, you can see all of the message's posts, provided you
have not hidden them. You can find out more about this topic
In this element, the number of recipients and their profile pictures are shown.
Click on a profile picture to open the
personal page of the recipient.
6. Manage a message
At the top left beneath the creator's profile picture, you can use the various
functions to manage the message.
7. Edit a message
Edit message to modify the message after it has been created.
Please note that you cannot remove yourself from the recipient group from this point.
To withdraw from the recipient group of a message, select the option
Delete message. The other recipients can
continue to read and respond to the message. If the recipient group
consists of only one user, and this user deletes the message, then
there will be no remaining recipients, and the message will be completely
Settings, the posts of this particular message
can be set to be displayed or hidden on your
Archive message / Remove archive flag
Messages, which you do not necessarily need to see on the overview page,
but which you do not wish to delete, can be archived. Select
Archive this message to archive the message. The message is then only
archived for you. Other recipients of the message can decide for themselves if
they wish to archive the message or not. Even when you have archived a message,
you will continue to be notified of new posts via notifications and (as long
as you have not selected Hide all posts of this message
on News) you will be informed by your
News page. Archived messages can be displayed on the overview page again.
If you are on the page of an archived message, you can cancel the archiving by
Remove archive flag.
All information regarding the general filters on the left-hand side on the
overview page of the Messages module can be found
There is an additional option in the filters area for messages,
Also show archived messages. This will mean
that archived messages are shown in the overview.