Pooling

The Activate pooling option means that database connections requested once can be used again. This increases performance, especially for highly frequented portals.

If you only rarely access the configured data source, it makes sense to deactivate Pooling, which will reduce unnecessary load on the database.

This may also be required by the license terms of the database manufacturer, who may restrict the amount of permitted simultaneous connections.

The setting for Maximum connection age allows you to define a span of time, after which a frequently used connection must be released, as soon as it is not in use. The Release unused connections after setting defines that a connection will be released after that number of seconds of inactivity. The setting for Clearing interval defines after which amount of time unused objects will be released.

After clicking OK, the connection to the data source will be configured. You can access it in the Applications module.